Not in it for the money?

Alright I know we are not in it for the money …..right?  We are not suppose to care about our pay and if we do, we are just jerks.  Well every now and then it does matter.  It especially matters to my wife…..

Well we get the blast email from the local youth assignor yesterday about how there is not enough referees for toady’s games.  Well I had blocked myself out from high school because I had a meeting going to 5pm for work.  So needless to say I could work one of the youth rec games that starts at 6:30pm as an AR.  I emailed back saying great I will help out.  I get assigned to this game and then realize the pay for this game as AR is $10….

The $10 will hardly cover the gas to get there. This was frustrating.  BUT if I say something I will be the jerk that is in it for the money…The problem is it leaves me weighing if $10 is worth not hanging out with my son for the evening….What do you guys think?

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Not in it for the money?”

  1. SKD Says:

    I would definitely stay home for this one. More important to be with the family. No one would think you are a jerk for putting family first!

  2. isualum Says:

    just to follow up….Worked the game last night and it almost hurt a little to watch it…but I will say it did give me an oppurtunity to work with a few young refs and help the center at halftime.

Leave a Reply

